Holiday update: What is the green watchlist?

Holidays: Simon Calder predicts new UK green list countries

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has now confirmed that holidays to Malta, Madeira, the Balearic Islands are back on the cards, along with several UK Overseas Territories and Caribbean Islands (including Barbados). These countries will be added to the Government’s green list from 4am on Wednesday, June 30. However, all additions to the green list apart from Malta will also join the “green watchlist”, as will Israel and Jerusalem.

What is the green watchlist?

The ‘green watchlist’ signals that listed countries are at risk of moving from green to amber.

It is hoped the introduction of the new green watchlist will help give people more certainty about travelling.

The full list of countries to be added to the red list includes Eritrea, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Mongolia, Tunisia and Uganda.

This is a breaking story, refresh your browser for updates.

Source: Read Full Article