Travel ban: Can I still go on holiday to the USA? What does Trump travel ban mean for me?

Travellers hoping to visit the USA might be banned from visiting for 30 days after the US President issued sanctions against travelling from mainland Europe to the USA. Across Europe there have been more than 20,000 cases of infection, with Italy reporting the second highest number of cases after China. But are holidaymakers looking to travel to the USA still able to do so?

As of March 12, there have been 126,410 confirmed cases of coronavirus around the world.

In total 4,635 of these cases has resulted in death, while 68,313 have recovered. 

Of the remaining 53,462 patients currently infected, 5,707 are in a serious or critical condition.

The highest number of cases has been reported in China, with Italy confirming the second highest number of cases with 12,462, of which 827 have died.


  • Trump travel ban MAPPED: Which countries are banned from travelling?

There are currently 1,135 confirmed cases of the virus across the US, with 38 deaths.

In the wake of the WHO declaring coronavirus a pandemic, Donald Trump has announced a sweeping new travel ban on Europe.

Speaking from the Oval Office on Wednesday evening, Mr Trump said the “strong but necessary” restrictions would not apply to the UK, which has reported 456 cases.

The news came just hours after Italy announced tough new restrictions on its citizens as part of its nationwide lockdown.

He revealed the USA intends to monitor the situation to determine if travel may be reopened earlier.

Mr Trump said: “We made a lifesaving move with early action on China. 

“Now we must take take the same action with Europe.”

Mr Trump travel restrictions refer to the 26 countries in the Schengen border-free travel area.

A Homeland Security spokesman said: “These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.”

The new travel rules will come into effect from Friday at midnight Eastern Standard Time and do not apply to US citizens.

Coronavirus in USA: Is it safe to travel to USA? – EXPLAINER
Coronavirus treatment could be here in months – vaccine to take a year – INSIGHT
Coronavirus warning: USA urges citizens to avoid cruise ships – WARNING


  • Coronavirus UK LIVE: Boris Johnson holds emergency meeting

The US President blamed the European Union for failing to “take the same precautions” as the US had in fighting the virus.

Mr Trump said US clusters were “seeded” by European travellers.

The ban implies that several European countries which are not members of the Schengen agreement are excluded including Ireland, Bulgaria and Croatia.

He also said the travel suspension would also “apply to the tremendous amount of trade and cargo” coming from Europe into the US.

But he later tweeted to say that “trade will in no way be affected” by the new travel restrictions.

Can you still go on holiday to the USA?

With effect from February 2, the US government banned admittance to the USA to any foreign nationals who had visited China in the past 14 days or less prior to their travel to the country.

Later in February the US Government announce it would not permit entry to the USA of any foreign nationals who have visited Iran 14 days or less prior to their travel to the USA.

As of March 13 at midnight EST, any European traveller from one of the Schengen countries will not be permitted to travel to the country for the next 30 days.

After this period ends, it is possible the ban could be lifted or extended depending on the status of the outbreak across Europe.

Currently, UK travellers are still able to travel to the US, but if the outbreak worsens in Britain, the ban may be extended to include the UK.

However, as the ban does not cover the UK, Britons are still permitted to visit the US for business or leisure.

According to a risk assessment map created by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the UK is determined as “risk of limited community transmission”.

The USA currently has the eighth highest number of cases with 1,329 confirmed infections.

In total, 38 people have died in the US as a result of coronavirus, with 15 having recovered fully.

Mr Trump announced the US will defer tax payments for some individuals and businesses for three months to lessen the impacts of the COVID-19 outbreak.

He also said the Small Business Administration would make low-interest loans available to businesses to help them manage the impact of the virus.

Containment efforts across the US have ramped up with troops being delayed to New Rochelle where one outbreak is believed to have started.

The National Guard will deliver food to some individuals who have been told to self-isolate.

Source: Read Full Article